And the Belize wise men said, ‘Behold we bring you gifts, from Dunkin’ Donuts’

Posted on

The things you find on a tropical island in Belize . . .
The things you can find on a tropical island in Belize . . .

So I was in downtown San Pedro on my bicycle, running around doing errands when all of a sudden . . .  I got hungry.

And wouldn’t you know that Estel’s was closed for repairs.

I was thinking of pedaling down south to the Coconut Cafe, mainly because I haven’t been there since they moved to Exotic Caye Beach Resort and I always liked the owners — and their food.

But as I pedaled down Middle Street, the Lord took control of my bicycle and steered me to Pupuseria Salvadoreno.

Good choice, Lord. But, why? I wondered.

As the good Lord was guiding my hands to chain up my bicycle to a power pole the answer hit me like Paul on the road to Damascus: I love their four beef pupusas for $15 BZD.

With an orange Fanta, the Lord reminded me.

My eyes had no sooner adjusted to the darkness inside than the true answer revealed itself.

Holy, cripes! That’s a Dunkin’ Donuts dozen box!

“Salvadorean donuts,” said one woman proudly with a big smile.

“Ah Salvadorean donuts from Dunkin’ Donuts,” I replied, a bit stupidly as I look back upon the conversation.

Like she didn’t already know that.

You must understand, we have no franchise or fast food outlets in Belize. Thankfully! Well, not fast food in the terms that Americans think of fast food.

Just so you know . . .  seeing Jesus on a piece of burnt toast is more common than a Dunkin’ Donuts box on a tropical island in Belize — with donuts still inside.

Apparently some lucky guy’s girlfriend loves him very much because she brought the donuts in fresh this morning when she flew into Belize from  El Salvador.

I guess the moral of this story is that anything is possible, if you crave something bad enough, on a small tropical island off the coast of Central America. Hey, people regularly bring me the Sunday New York Times now. On Sunday!

Did I want one of those donuts? You bet your sweet bippy I did.

Did I have the nerve to ask for one?  Especially that delicate chocolate glaze tucked shyly in the back corner of the box. Ohhhhh, I bet it was so light and fluffy . . .

Seriously?

What do you think I am?

This was someone else’s treat, even if they hadn’t quite finished the box by 1 p.m. (I could have finished that whole box of mix donuts in under an hour with two cups of black coffee to boot.

Just saying.

And the pupusas, as always, were delicious.

5 thoughts on “And the Belize wise men said, ‘Behold we bring you gifts, from Dunkin’ Donuts’

    Susan said:
    January 6, 2016 at 4:31 pm

    Oh you are better than I Bob, I would have offered her $10.00 American for that ONE chocolate iced donut and not given it a second thought!

    Like

    mches said:
    January 6, 2016 at 6:08 pm

    Hey. I do not know who you are, but that was a funny story. Please write more!

    Like

    Linda Czestochowski said:
    January 7, 2016 at 8:10 am

    That chocolate glazed one in question looks like a Boston cream — you’re a much stronger soul than I!! 🙂

    Like

      robertjhawkins1 responded:
      January 7, 2016 at 9:16 am

      Trust me, Linda, if it were a Boston cream, there would be unconscious bodies all over the floor and I would have chocolate dribbling out of the corners of my mouth! Wait. Oh, no. Dear god, you may be right ….. it is good I didn’t notice at the time…..

      Like

Leave a Reply

