WordPress compiled my 2015 in review: Let’s go to the stats!

Posted on Updated on

WordPress has kindly sifted through all the stats for Bound for Belize in 2015 and come to the conclusion that if I were a painting in the Louvre, it would take three days for all of this year’s visitors to see it.

That’s kind of flattering. I think.

I’m not sure what sort of painting I would be or why the Louvre would ever be interested in showing it. Just the same, it is pretty cool to know that 75,000 times, people from 136 countries were interested in reading what I have written.

After a career of writing for newspapers and websites for a living, I can’t begin to tell you how god it feels to be read. Even by people who don’t like what I say.

So thank you.I’ll stick to my old — and mostly unkept — promise to write less more often . . . and add to that a promise to do my best to make sure that when you do stop by you won’t ever feel it has been a waste of your good time.

I’m still trying to understand this complicated, lovely creature Belize and always feel that the closer I get, the more elusive she becomes. That’s right. I am forever bound for Belize. Thanks for coming along.

Have a terrific 2016!

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2015 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The Louvre Museum has 8.5 million visitors per year. This blog was viewed about 75,000 times in 2015. If it were an exhibit at the Louvre Museum, it would take about 3 days for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

9 thoughts on “WordPress compiled my 2015 in review: Let’s go to the stats!

    Rob Chodowski said:
    January 3, 2016 at 10:06 am

    When I’m not in Belize, your artistic prose brings me back. I’ve told you before, your writings “paint” a picture for me of the Belizean lifestyle and the beauty that is often beyond description, but you manage to do it “justice”.

    Like

      robertjhawkins1 responded:
      January 3, 2016 at 3:05 pm

      Thank you, Rob. I couldn’t ask for a finer compliment. See you soon!

      Like

    Susan said:
    January 3, 2016 at 11:20 am

    Rob Chodowski you hit the nail squarely on the head! Bob, we keep saying you should write a book! Keep painting those pictures! Happy New Years!

    Like

      Helen Armstrong said:
      January 3, 2016 at 2:34 pm

      Bob, we told you three years ago to write a book, how’s that coming? Still waiting! Going to southwest Mexico this year as could not stand the sargasso last year, hope to see you again in Belize.
      Helen and Bill

      Like

        robertjhawkins1 responded:
        January 3, 2016 at 2:41 pm

        This will be the year of the book. I think I have enough characters to populate a trilogy without even making stuff up.

        Yes, the sargasso has been oppressive for nearly a year now, that and the huge amount of plastic that has flowed in with it. I can’t blame you but I hope you come back some day! Where will you be staying in Southwest Mexico?

        Like

        Helen Armstrong said:
        January 3, 2016 at 5:31 pm

        Staying in Puerto Escondido, should be good times but not Ambergris Caye.

        Like

      robertjhawkins1 responded:
      January 3, 2016 at 3:03 pm

      OK. This is the Year of the Book.

      ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    Linda Czestochowski said:
    January 4, 2016 at 7:11 am

    If anyone can capture the “essence ” of Belize, in all it’s complicated beauty — it’s you! My hubby and I visited this time last year and fell in love with the people and the places in San Pedro, so following your blog keeps our memories alive and fresh. I was getting worried coz it seemed there hadn’t been a post for a while, but the holidays are so busy, no matter where you lay your hat. Looking forward to many more of your enchanting, whimsical blogs in 2016 ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

      robertjhawkins1 responded:
      January 4, 2016 at 7:45 am

      Thank you, Linda. I’ll do my best to not disappoint! Falling in love with Belize is easy to do. I’m finding that staying “married” to her is a challenge. In many ways Ambergris Caye (especially) is high maintenance but worth the commitment. Now that should keep me busy writing in 2016 …..I really appreciate your support!

      Like

Leave a Reply

