Ten images to make you fall in love with Ambergris Caye all over again

Posted on

Everything looks better when framed between two palm trees. That is my photo tip for the day. Notice how glass-like the water is today, as if you could walk on it.
Everything looks better when framed between two palm trees. That is my photo tip for the day. Notice how glass-like the water is today, as if you could walk on it. I should be on it — of beneath it — instead of talking about it. Darn you, “Moncho’s 59.”

I spent this morning walking home from San Pedro. And it took hours. I meandered. I poked. I explored. I dawdled. It felt like walking home from grade school all over again, and that is a good feeling.

I walked because I wanted to but the main reason is that a misbehaving “Moncho’s 59” is scaring the bejesus out of people. Our golf cart has taken to backfiring — and not those cute little “Chitty Chitty Bang Bang” burps and belches.

When “Moncho’s 59” backfires it sounds like a Crips and Bloods cross-fire. More than one person has headed for the ground with their head covered. Plus it is stalling at the most inopportune times, like when I’ve backed out into traffic and have three seconds to hit forward before the next cart rams me from behind.

So, this morning I dropped “Moncho’s 59” at Captain Sharks, where the guys recently tore the carburetor apart and reassembled it for me, yielding a fair improvement. (No reflection on the cart rental firm, Moncho’s. This particular cart #59 was bought from them several years ago. It still carries their logo and number because … well, I don’t know why. It has a nice ring to it, I guess. And it has a certain amount of celebrity around the island.)

And then I walked. Around.

You miss a lot when you’re scuttling around in a golf cart, or even on a bicycle.

How do people here get their whites so ... white? There is a hidden art, and I intend to find it. Meanwhile, my new hobby is peering back beyond the facades of buildings in the downtown San Pedro grid. There is an interesting life going on behind the gates, down the alleys and in the shadows!
How do people here get their whites so … white? There is a hidden art, and I intend to find it. Meanwhile, my new hobby is peering back beyond the facades of buildings in the downtown San Pedro grid. There is an interesting life going on behind the gates, down the alleys and in the shadows!

For example, this alleyway off a side street intrigued me, if only for the variety of segmented depths and textures — mostly a study in whites and grays, I think. This was off an east-west street between Middle and Back streets in town.

The rest of the pictures you’ll see were all taken on a sand-packed waterfront road called Boca del Rio. On the west side it is an ever-thickening collection of restaurants, bars, hotels, boutique resorts and homes. Look only on the waterside, and you are in another world.

These are mostly waterside images, some among the most documented piers (and a sunken boat) on the island. Still the impeccable beauty and clarity of the weather today adds a fresh sheen to all, I think.

On Boca del Rio: Do piers look better when they jut out from the left side of the frame ...
On Boca del Rio: Do piers look better when they jut out from the left side of the frame …
... or from the right? What I like is the structural integrity of the pier on the left, versus the near collapse of the one jutting from the right.
… or from the right? What I like is the structural integrity of the pier extending from the left, versus the near collapse of the one jutting from the right.
There are some images that should be handed a number based on their popularity with photographers. This one is "San Pedro No. 12."  The channel shot from atop the Sir Barry Bowen Bridge might be "San Pedro No. 5" and any photo of Coconut Leo hanging upside down in a coconut tree is "San Pedro No. 1."  You get the idea. Sort of a Trip Adviser popularity pole for iconic images. We're No. 1!
There are some images that should be handed a number based on their popularity with photographers. This long-time sunken boat is easily titled “San Pedro No. 12.” The channel shot from atop the Sir Barry Bowen Bridge might be “San Pedro No. 5” and any photo of Coconut Leo hanging upside down in a coconut tree is “San Pedro No. 1.” You get the idea. Sort of a Trip Adviser popularity pole for iconic images. We’re No. 1!
Storms and other weather during the past year seem to have brought in a good number of floating trees, root structure and all. You'll see them run aground near docks all up and down the coast -- which is better than floating in the busy boat waterway. I like this one near the park at the north end of Boca del Rio. When I figure out why, I'll let you know.
Storms and other weather during the past year seem to have brought in a good number of floating trees, root structure and all. You’ll see them run aground near docks all up and down the coast — which is better than floating in the busy boat waterway. I like this one near the park at the north end of Boca del Rio. When I figure out why, I’ll let you know.
Let'as step across Boca del Rio for a minute, and stop in front of Tim Burton's summer house. . . . Had you there for a moment, didn't I? I'm not even sure if this is a Halloween creation of something that has been in the front yard for ages and I just never noticed it. Well, it is timely now. Break out the "Nightmare Before Christmas" for further review.
Let’as step across Boca del Rio for a minute, and stop in front of Tim Burton’s summer house. . . . Had you there for a moment, didn’t I? I’m not even sure if this is a Halloween creation of something that has been in the front yard for ages and I just never noticed it. Well, it is timely now. Break out the “Nightmare Before Christmas” for further review.
Just another view of the couple stand-up paddling on the incredibly flat Caribbean today. I should be out there, instead of waiting for the golf cart to get fixed.
Just another view of the couple stand-up paddling on the incredibly flat Caribbean today. Don’t you agree this is a better image when it is framed between two coconut trees? I should be out there, instead of waiting for the golf cart to get fixed.
I've passed these palm trees hundreds of times and never noticed the symmetry, the almost cathedral-like walkway that they form.
I’ve passed these palm trees hundreds of times and never noticed the rough symmetry, the almost cathedral-like walkway that they form. 
I watched the crab climb out of the water, up the sheer concrete wall and on to the top. He wasn't bothered by me and I clicked away in his face like he was used to it. A media-hungry celebrity crab. He answers to Donald, and wants to make America great again. Then again, this could be the heat talking.
I watched the crab climb out of the water, up the sheer concrete wall and on to the top. He wasn’t bothered by me and I clicked away in his face like he was used to it. A media-hungry celebrity crab. He answers to Donald, and wants to make America great again. Then again, this could be the heat talking.
2 thoughts on “Ten images to make you fall in love with Ambergris Caye all over again

    Susan W. said:
    October 27, 2015 at 2:43 pm

    Hey thanks for dawdling and taking so many nice photos! I personally love The Donald…I could see the resemblance. Hope to see you in February.

    Liked by 1 person

      Karen Kelly said:
      November 4, 2015 at 7:26 am

      Loved the crab ending!!!! So glad you are still enjoying that beautiful island. Hugs, Karen

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

