Dear Judy Collins, come to Belize, know the clouds

Posted on Updated on

It's that kind of an afternoon in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. What a show the skies are putting on for us, facing west.
It’s that kind of an afternoon in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. What a show the skies are putting on for us, facing west.

 

Dear Judy Collins,

I was a typical freshman in college when I first saw you onstage in Cleveland, Ohio. It was love at first sight.

I wanted to become the man who helped you understand the clouds and love. I wanted to be the one who soared among the ” ice cream castles” and “feathered canyons” in the sky. I learned later that Joni Mitchell wrote the song but I never felt like she needed me for anything.

Yes, that was just one of life’s illusions, as I recall.

Ice cream castles and feathered canyons in the air.
Ice cream castles and feathered canyons in the air.

But I looked outside today and I immediately thought of “Both Sides Now” and you and that one failed year at university. Thank you for that.

I wish you could be here to see these clouds today.

Are they similar to the ones that inspired Joni Mitchell to write this song, I wonder?

I know. No two clouds are ever alike. Still, feelings run in similar veins. If I could write a song about clouds (as a metaphor, I suppose) this would be the day to do it.

 

 

From “Both Sides Now”

Bows and flows of angel hair
And ice cream castles in the air
And feather canyons everywhere
I’ve looked at clouds that way
But now they only block the sun
They rain and snow on everyone
So many things I would have done
But clouds got in my way

I’ve looked at clouds from both sides now
From up and down and still somehow
It’s cloud’s illusions I recall
I really don’t know clouds at all

Read more: Judy Collins – Both Sides Now Lyrics | MetroLyrics 

Post script: And minutes after I published this post, it began to rain, the sun-drenched life-infusing five-minute rain on a hot Caribbean afternoon. Somehow, Judy, I think you would have loved to step out into that rain.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Dear Judy Collins, come to Belize, know the clouds

    Susan said:
    May 22, 2014 at 11:47 am

    That did it. Now I am in tears.

    Like

      Tracey said:
      May 23, 2014 at 9:26 am

      Me too!

      Like

        robertjhawkins1 responded:
        May 23, 2014 at 2:01 pm

        Tracey, there is a cloud here with your name on it, I’m sure!

        Like

    Susan said:
    May 22, 2014 at 12:27 pm

    Different topic…did you receive any special vaccines prior to visiting/moving to Belize? I keep hearing about Dengue (no vacc avail yet), Malaria and Chikungunya. Any advice? Thanks

    Like

      robertjhawkins1 responded:
      May 22, 2014 at 12:38 pm

      No, nothing at all. But a good question.
      There are risks, especially I think from mosquitoes and drinking water (although town water is supposed to be potable). Bug spray and bottled water are about as proactive as we get, so far. The town has already been spraying in some neighborhoods, for mosquitoes; earlier than usual, I’m told.
      There’s some risk, I’m sure but no detectable concern in the population. Nobody talks about disease and risk.
      From today’s San Pedro Sun: “In 2013, the Caribbean region saw a spike in the number of dengue cases while some countries like Belize saw a decrease in malaria cases. Belize alone saw an increase in dengue cases, totaling some 2000 clinical cases and over 300 confirmed cases in 2013. However the cases of malaria decreased significantly, totaling only 26 in 2013.”

      “According to the figures from the Ministry of Health, on Ambergris Caye there were over 119 clinical cases and 26 confirmed cases of classic dengue in 2013 alone. For 2014, there have been 24 registered cases of clinical dengue thus making the island a dengue hotspot.”

      Reportedly the European Union is pouring millions into the country to deal with waterborne diseases. Read more here: http://www.sanpedrosun.com/community-and-society/2014/05/21/eu-ambassador-paola-amadei-working-trip-san-pedro/

      Like

Leave a Reply

