Around-the-island Eco-challenge race begins

Posted on Updated on

kayak8The 10th Annual Lagoon Reef Eco-challenge took off this morning at 7:30 from El Embarcadero, on the lagoon side of Ambergris Caye and by my frantic count as they rounded the first set of mangrove trees there were about 20 two-person boats in the race.

Some time today, the kayakers will pull into  the Basil Jones Area in Bacalar Chico Marine Reserve at the very north end of this island. Tomorrow starting around 9 a.m. they “sprint” down the reef side of the island and into Central Park in downtown San Pedro Town.

I’m exhausted just thinking about it.

Two of my sons, Ryan and Chris, and I used to do a five-mile kayak race in the benign waters of San Diego Bay. And it was hard!

These guys do more than 40 miles over the two days.

Still, next year! Who will paddle with me? We can enter in the “”oldest team” category. I promise I’ll start training long before next April.

Here are some photos from today’s start, in more or less chronological order:

kayak

Kayakers warm up before the race, get those paddling cadences down.
kayak3

kayak4

kayak5

Lined up for the start of the race as the crew board SEAduced counts down (and backs away) …
kayak6

And they are off!
kayak7

kayak9

Heading into the lagoon …
kayak10

2 thoughts on “Around-the-island Eco-challenge race begins

    […] because I saw the racers off on Saturday morning from the San Pedro Town Embarcadero on the lagoon side I had a vested interest in seeing them […]

    Like

    […] morning I went down to the docks to watch the Eco-Challenge kayakers begin their two-day race around the island. As I sat at the end of a short pier, snapping photos on my iPhone, a real photographer dropped […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

