Bliss in Belize: Rose sums up her feelings after six weeks

Posted on Updated on

Bliss in Belize: Sunday's sunset from the deck of our home on Ambergris Cay, Belize.
Bliss in Belize: Sunday’s sunset from the deck of our home on Ambergris Cay, Belize.

Please welcome our guest blogger today, Rose Alcantara!

This is a letter Rose wrote the other day to some of her friends back in the States.  I would love to see her write more often, and not just because she says nice things about me! And besides, it is about time for a fresh voice and perspective here.

If you agree that Rose should write more often, encourage her. If she does write, I promise to take more yoga classes (and maybe cook occasionally … although that may not be much of a bargaining chip).

And now, a word from Miss Rose:

Rose Alcantara cools off in the infinity pool at Rojo Beach Bar, about five miles north of our home, during a great Discovery Sunday bicycle ride.
Rose Alcantara cools off in the infinity pool at Rojo Beach Bar, about five miles north of our home, during a great Discovery Sunday bicycle ride.

So, you know of — or better yet — follow Bob’s Blog: Bound for Belize. Well, here is my 2 cents, titled: “Bliss in Belize.”

Here we are starting Week 6 in San Pedro Town on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and we have settled in nicely.

Rose scoots below the bar at the Palapa to point out the names of our nextdoor neighbors in Fairfield, Ca., Scott and Anna, who spent their honeymoon in Belize. Patrons are encouraged to "sign in" at the Palapa.
Rose scoots below the bar at the Palapa to point out the names of our nextdoor neighbors in Fairfield, Ca., Scott and Anna, who spent their honeymoon in Belize. Patrons are encouraged to “sign in” at the Palapa.

Last night (Saturday) at sunset, walking hand and  hand with Bob on the beach to the Palapa Bar (which is a bar/restaurant at the end of a wooden pier where locals chat with visitors), I had to do a reality check. I told myself, I really live here. Walking on the sandy beach, feeling a light breeze and witnessing the myriad shades of the ocean, I realized I actually moved here.

My days are spent waking up without an alarm clock, and cycling 2 miles to yoga.  Afterward, I shop at different markets for the day’s meals, and then cycle home — trying not to toss the veggies out of the basket from the bumpy roads — to shower.

Bob will have been writing all morning. He finds numerous things to write about and has quite a following.  Several times, we will be sitting at a bar or restaurant and strangers come up and ask, “Are you Bob and Rose? We read your Blog and recognized Rose from the photos.”  It usually happens when I am without make up and hair squeezed into a hair grip. I sheepishly say yes as Bob grins from ear to ear.

I should remember to always look my best, but as many of you know, the 33 lbs weight-limit on the bags we brought with us, with most of it being my allergic free bedding, left me little wardrobe.

Ah well, if you haven’t followed Bob blog, do check it out. I quite enjoy it myself.  Bound for Belize helps me remember what I did the day before. Ignore photos of me, though. He won’t let me edit which pics he chooses.

Lunch on Tuesdays will be at My Secret Cafe, where Oscar's Tuesday special is the  best fried chicken we've ever tasted, along with rice and beans.
Lunch on Tuesdays will be at My Secret Cafe, where Oscar’s Tuesday special is the best fried chicken we’ve ever tasted, along with rice and beans.

Okay, yes, I am soooo happy here. I feel fit again. We are eating well and exercising. I find the time to read, do brain games and watch movies. I enjoy the challenge of cooking with limited produce and protein. I am even getting the urge to start teaching yoga, pilates and yogalaties again!

But all is not Rosy.

I miss you all. I do. I miss my friends. You are all such a big part of life and there is a void that cannot be replaced. Also, I miss Sourdough bread, La Crema wine, my shoes, (I wear the same sandals every single day), my summer dresses, my Pandora radio station, my reformer equipment, my cooking utensils —  oh … oh … oh … and hangers to hang my few clothes! Yes, one hanger is $4. I am not paying that. Do you have any idea how many hangers I gave away? Several hundred dollars worth by Belizean standards.

Rose buying produce at Maria's along Coconut rive south of the airport in San Pedro Town. That's the lovely Maria waving.
Rose buying produce at Maria’s along Coconut Drive, south of the airport in San Pedro Town. That’s the lovely Maria waving.

I wish I had eyebrow tweezers, nail polish remover, oh, and I would love a pedicure. I also wish I’d brought a craft kit to keep my hands busy, too.

I miss my baby girl who is living the adventure in Malaga, Spain. We Whatsapp almost every day, or FaceTime, when possible. Jonathon I do hear from, too, and am proud of my kids living a good life.

I have found that there are those expats who have moved here to get away. Bob and I moved here to run toward a new life. We pinch ourselves, how blessed we are to have this opportunity and we look forward to sharing this island with you when you visit — which I hope will be sooner than later.

Hurry,
Rose

13 thoughts on “Bliss in Belize: Rose sums up her feelings after six weeks

    Kathy said:
    March 31, 2014 at 10:23 am

    Rose, love the womans view! We would be glad to bring you anything “girly” you want when we come down in June! Really not a problem! Look forwaed to you adding to this wonderful Blog!

    Like

      Rose Alcantara said:
      April 1, 2014 at 11:08 am

      Ah shucks, thank you for your kind suggestion. I am a bit shy when it comes to writing (being married to a writer and all).
      I’ll take a stab at it with your encouragement.
      Rose

      Like

    maureen said:
    March 31, 2014 at 10:50 am

    Hi Rose and Bob,
    My name is Maureen and I am Mike’s sister( of Mike and Julia). Julia told me about your blog when she was visiting Eugene and I was telling her my dream of doing exactly what the two of you have done. Our youngest son is graduating highschool this year and off to college so I feel it is time to start exploring our options.
    I’ve never been to Belize but have always wanted to, being a avid diver and beach/ocean lover. I’m thinking of taking a couple of months each winter to try out differen’t locations that we are considering. Then in 5 years or so making a permanate move.
    Thanks for your blog, I look forward to it everyday. In fact it’s the first email I read.
    Maureen

    Like

      robertjhawkins1 responded:
      March 31, 2014 at 11:25 am

      Sounds like an excellent plan, Maureen. “Try before you buy,” seems to be the most frequent advice we hear from expats. When you decide to give Belize your two months trial be sure to let us know. Good luck and thanks for reaching out through the Friends Connection!

      Like

    Helen & Bill Armstrong said:
    March 31, 2014 at 12:18 pm

    Rose,
    I’m happy to see you and Bob are settling in on island life. Rose, you should continue to guest blog and Bob, keep on blogging as Helen and I enjoy your writings. Hopefully we will see you next year as we enjoyed your company.
    Helen & Bill, North Bay, Ontario, Canada

    Like

      robertjhawkins1 responded:
      March 31, 2014 at 12:32 pm

      Likewise, Bill. It was great fun meeting you both and sharing some time together! You shared some great tips, starting with Robin’s roadside BBQ! Looking forward to seeing you again.

      Like

    Kathy Chavis said:
    March 31, 2014 at 2:52 pm

    I want to read more of “Bliss in Belize”. Thanks Rose. We will be @ Grand Caribe June 16-22 and I will have room in bags to bring anything you need for cooking. You can have our extra hangers too!

    Like

      robertjhawkins1 responded:
      April 3, 2014 at 2:19 pm

      Thanks Kathy! Should be a beautiful time at Grand Caribe! I’ll be the haggard looking guy running across the beachfront every morning! Wave to me!

      Like

    Maureen Anthony McGee said:
    March 31, 2014 at 4:01 pm

    I really enjoy your blog, Bob but it is a great treat to hear from Rose! I am a wanna be “run toward” but my chickies haven’t quite left the Canadian nest yet, so for now, I live through people like you and Rose! Maybe you can talk her into one of every 5 blogs being hers and something specifically for women? Keep up the great work and enjoy! I’d be happy to come visit you and bring her a sack load of hangers!

    Like

      robertjhawkins1 responded:
      March 31, 2014 at 8:19 pm

      Me too! I think that is a great idea, Maureen.
      I think her perspective would be most welcome. While we share lots of traits and ideas, Rose has her own unique point of view.

      Like

    Julia Smith said:
    April 1, 2014 at 9:51 am

    Hi Miss Rose! We miss you, here too (although we hardly saw each other face to face with our schedules and all!). I am so excited to hear about your lives each day and just how wonderful things are there for the two of you. Looks like you are settling in nicely, even without all of the items of comfort that you left behind. You can count on Mike and I coming out to visit sometime in the not too distant future, for sure. You know how we love to travel! And yes, Bob is right. You do need to keep writing. It’s nice to hear your opinion and what you are up to. Have a great day riding your bike to wherever your destination is today. Hugs, Julia

    Like

      Rose Alcantara said:
      April 1, 2014 at 11:12 am

      So nice to hear from you.
      Not a golf course on the island, but plenty of excursions for snorkeling, fishing and diving. Some good music to listen to while your toes are in the sand and your munching your fish taco downing it with a local beer or rum punch.
      Belize is calling you and I will greet you with open arms!

      Like

    Julia Sugimoto Smith said:
    April 1, 2014 at 8:47 pm

    Yo Maureen, Mike says to tell you to hurry up buy a big place in Belize and we will see you all real soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

