It is a good day that begins with yoga at Zen Arcade

Posted on Updated on

Yoga class begins to gather at Zen Arcade just south of the airport in San Pedro on a beautiful Sunday morning. Just by posture alone, guess which student is Rose ....
Yoga class begins to gather at Zen Arcade just south of the airport in San Pedro on a beautiful Sunday morning. Just by posture alone, guess which student is Rose ….

Up early Sunday morning to watch the start of the Belikin La Ruta Maya Belize River Challenge, a 170-mile, 4-day canoe race from San Ignacio to Belize City.

Couldn’t find it on TV.

That’s because we are very early. It starts March 7.

Only thing left to do: Yoga!

Actually this worked out well. Rose and I have been meaning to drop into Zen Arcade, the new wellness center, owned by friends Noele and Tara, for some yoga. As luck would have it, Tara was teaching a free first-Sunday-of-the-month Hatha yoga class.

For me, it has been a while, but Tara is a dynamic, supportive teacher. I did OK, but I’m pretty sure my forehead will never reach the floor from a sitting position again in my lifetime. The rooftop studio was blissful with soothing ocean breezes and glimpses of the blue visible through the foliage.

The Baker isn't the only San Pedro establishment with a good handle on Sundays. Felize is a beach-sports bar right across the street from us. I saw this sign as we pedaled home this morning. I kind of like and respect that.
The Baker isn’t the only San Pedro establishment with a good handle on Sundays. Felize is a beach-sports bar right across the street from us. I saw this sign as we pedaled home this morning. I kind of like and respect that.

I’ve mentioned Zen Arcade before. It is a pretty bold concept. They plan to offer everything from yoga, dance aerobics, Pilates, massage, Botox, meditation, counseling — whatever the human imagination can conjure under the wellness umbrella. Next week the long awaited cafe will be opening on the second floor with outdoor tables.

Piece by piece, their dream is coming together.

We pedaled down Coconut Drive to The Baker after the class with visions of cinnamon buns and coffee dancing in my head.

Who closes on Sundays any more?

Apparently Ken and Emily do.

OK, just a short pedal back up the road to Melt Cafe where we “settled” for Mark and Michelle’s mouthwatering Huevos Rancheros, which just happened to be the special for the day. Nice when you can have a terrific breakfast for two for under$20 US!

And that’s with singer/guitarist Tull Rae (often heard at Fido’s up the coast) performing in the background.

And the day is still young ….

These guys are over the place in our neighborhood. They love sunning themselves on the side of the road. Had to stop and photograph this proud fellow this morning.
These guys are over the place in our neighborhood. They love sunning themselves on the side of the road. Had to stop and photograph this proud fellow this morning.
4 thoughts on “It is a good day that begins with yoga at Zen Arcade

    Belize Blog (@SanPedroScoop) said:
    March 2, 2014 at 2:55 pm

    Quite a bit closes on Sunday and on the mainland? oh man..>EVERYTHING. It takes some getting used to. I also wanted a Sunday cinnamon roll!

    Like

      robertjhawkins1 responded:
      March 3, 2014 at 9:50 am

      I kind of like it. Takes me back to my childhood when everything shut down on Sundays. You’re right, so much new and different to get used to. Fun!

      Like

    Susan Moore said:
    March 2, 2014 at 4:01 pm

    Yoga! The last time I took a yoga class outside, there were gnats everywhere. Did you have bugs? It does look so wonderful. I think I should go find my flip flops and yoga mat and a plane ticket.

    Like

      robertjhawkins1 responded:
      March 3, 2014 at 9:25 am

      Not right now. I think the steady breeze off the ocean keeps the island pretty bug-free this time of year. Two weeks today and I can recall only one night that the little guys feasted on my ankles!

      Like

Leave a Reply

