Closing up shop

Posted on Updated on

What does Rose do when she isn't teaching Pilates or yoga? Stuff like this: Hanging yoga with daughter, Caira.
What does Rose do when she isn’t teaching Pilates or yoga? Stuff like this: Hanging yoga with her daughter, Caira.

Rose stops working after December 31st.

January first begins the Big Push to put everything in order for our Feb. 7 move to Belize. And, my goodness, there is a lot to do.

So, essentially “Pilates by Rose” will be no more. I don’t think that has completely sunk in as Rose has been extremely busy making sure every person gets an appropriate final session and a new Pilates home.

You see, these aren’t clients. They are friends — and Rose has a deep personal connection with every one of them.  As an outsider who “married into” Rose’s Pilates/yoga community, I am constantly awed by how much they love and support each other while testing the fullest capabilities of their bodies in the name of good health.

Exertion with a smile, that has been the Pilates by Rose way as Claudia demonstrates here.
Exertion with a smile, that has been the Pilates by Rose way as Claudia demonstrates here.

This is going to be hard. How do I know? Because it has been hard already.

For more than a month now, Rose has been fretting about the future of each person, as if each were her own child. She worries about whether they will continue their exercise regimen.  She has tried to find suitable replacement Pilates classes and instructors. She has worried about the specific injuries from which some have been recovering.

Cute puppies in animal shelters don’t get this kind of love and attention.

Her days are long, sometimes stretching from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. but Rose somehow manages to greet each person with boundless enthusiasm. Sometimes there are squeals of agony coming from the studio; as often there are peals of laughter; and always, the voice of Rose counting out the cadence of an exercise.

Tracy Barton Hostetter lost an incredibly brave fight with cancer while we were in Belize. She would come to work out with Rose on the Pilates machines, even  when chemo left her debilitated.
Tracy Barton Hostetter lost an incredibly brave fight with cancer while we were in Belize. She would come to work out with Rose on the Pilates machines, even when chemo left her debilitated.

Amid it all, problems get solved, rumors and gossip are traded, news conveyed, recipes shared and advice dispensed. There is also commiseration over family woes and a collective mourning when a dear friend is lost, like Tracy Barton Hostetter  who died from cancer this year.

Rose may be teaching Pilates but I say she is a lot like your neighborhood bartender with the sympathetic ear and gentle encouragement.

I hear this all day long and marvel at the bonding and enthusiasm.

But at the end of the day, I am the one who sees the exhaustion. By 8 p.m. there isn’t a whole lot left in this ball of fire. But it is OK. I understand. I gave myself to a career that probably, too often, left too little for my family.

(OK, in the original post I omitted something very important right here. Read this to find out what.)

But this is who we are, Rose and me: All in.

If she were anything less, she would not be the woman I fell in love with at first sight.

All in.

I’m so proud of you, Rose Alcantara. And so honored to have experienced Pilates By Rose. I can’t wait to share this next adventure with you.

Starting Jan. 1 we will be all in together as we prepare for Belize.

7 thoughts on “Closing up shop

    Miranda said:
    December 31, 2013 at 9:45 am

    I hope I get to meet you two. I feel like we have a lot in common. I started doing yoga about 14 months ago, to address some health issues, and have been doing Pilates now, one on one with a PT for about as long.
    I will be in SP for the month of March. Will you be there, or San Ignacio?

    Like

      robertjhawkins1 responded:
      December 31, 2013 at 12:47 pm

      Hi Miranda, We expect to be in San Pedro around March 7 — although where exactly is still to be determined. In other words, no place to stay yet! Nothing like cutting it close….
      Pilates and yoga are great ways to recover from injury and stay healthy. I plan to be Rose’s best student once we settle in.
      See you in Belize!

      Like

    Emily said:
    December 31, 2013 at 7:08 pm

    Will Rose be teaching Pilates in San Pedro? If so, I will definitely join her class when we come to visit the island. I took mat Pilates in North Carolina and have done a few DVDs on my own. Have never used “the reformer” or anything serious like that, but I love what Pilates did for my core back when I was doing it religiously. Please keep your blog readers posted on Rose’s plans for teaching in Belize! Thanks!

    Like

      robertjhawkins1 responded:
      January 1, 2014 at 7:54 pm

      Hi Emily. Happy New Year. Thank you for writing.
      Rose would like to do some Pilates and yoga teaching and has been in contact with two women who are opening their own studio. How soon she would be able to begin is uncertain as she must apply for a work permit. We’ll keep you posted however. Again, thanks!

      Like

        Emily said:
        January 3, 2014 at 7:49 pm

        And thank you! 🙂

        Like

    What I meant to say was … « Bound for Belize said:
    January 2, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    […] I recently posted an item marking the last day of Pilates by Rose, the business my wife, Rose Alcantara, has built up over the years. The blog was titled “Closing up shop.” […]

    Like

    […] a great deal of sadness I say that Pilates by Rose officially closed its doors on Dec. 31, […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

