Help us crowdsource info for our move to Belize!

Posted on Updated on

Help me to my place in the sun!
Help me find my place in the sun!

It is beginning to look like we will be moving up our departure date for Belize! At the current rate that we are disposing of possessions we’ll be sleeping and sitting on bare floors by the end of December.

Lately I’ve been getting an interesting question from friends: “Are you getting nervous?”

Hell, yes. I’m getting nervous.

That is not what they mean though. The real question is “Are you having doubts?”

Nervous is a very different thing from doubt. Neither Rose nor I have any doubts about moving to Belize. We’ve thought it through. Decided the pros outweigh the cons. And we’re good to go. Sooner than later.

But, yeah, I’m nervous. Who wouldn’t be? This whole thing started out as a simple idea: “Let’s move to Belize.” Now as we get closer to moving and further away from staying put everything looks more complicated.

For example, I can’t believe how many letters attesting to my character and financial responsibility I need just to open a bank account. Besides the more routine questions, like “Where will we live?” we need to think about U.S. mail (How will we get it?); health (What sort of insurance do we need?); transportation, if we live in San Ignacio (Will we need a truck or car?); luggage (How much should we bring to live here?); stuff (What do we do with the stuff we don’t take with us?); work (Can we get work permits?) not work (Should I apply for the Retired Persons Incentive Program?); clothing (What do I do with all these sports coats?); cooking (Seriously? Bring our own pots and pans?); cell phones (What do I do with this iPhone?); People magazine (Will I ever see it again?); time (Really, what will I do with my time?).

About 10 more of the same kind of questions arise nightly, usually between 1 a.m. and 4 a.m. and evaporate by the time I rise for the day. I need to take more notes in my sleep …

But wait. Here’s an idea, my Belizean friends (and soon-to-be friends). In my former business, journalism, one very hot trend is crowd sourcing. That’s where a bunch of people who don’t get paid provide information to someone who does. That inundation of information is sorted, compiled, verified, calibrated, fine-tuned, sifted, compressed, analyzed and written up into something useful for readers.

I’d like to try this with you – only I won’t be paid either.

Here’s the question – Can you tell us some of the things you have learned in your move to Belize?

I’ll compile everything into a nice coherent blog post which everyone is welcome to copy and send around to the other 10,000 people who will be moving to Belize behind us.

Send your lessons learned to robertj.hawkins2012@gmail.com

If you like, include a little about yourself – a name, where you live, how long you have resided in Belize, perhaps some favorite pursuits.

Thanks in advance. This will be fun!

And fun is so much better than nervous.

12 thoughts on “Help us crowdsource info for our move to Belize!

    Jennifer Bryan said:
    December 2, 2013 at 6:40 am

    I’m looking forward to that post, since I am planning on retiring there………….in about 10 years………….I hope time flies!

    Like

      robertjhawkins1 responded:
      December 2, 2013 at 6:52 am

      Believe me, time does fly when you look back upon it. Not so much when you look ahead!

      Like

    lifeagain said:
    December 2, 2013 at 12:35 pm

    Robert,
    I gotta a feeling this request is going to lead to one good/very good read. I will be looking forward to reading your copulation also in preparation for my eventual move. I am shooting for 5 years and of course if i can make it sooner i will.
    1st contribution to a good preparation list for moving to Belize.
    Subscribe to some of the best blogs on the internet posted by people already transitioned, vacationed, current and former Belizian residents, dreamers who want to move to Belize or have already successfully navigated the process. (John East, Taco Girl. Scoop and Robert Hawkins to name a few) will get you financially, mentally and yes emotionally aware and thinking in so many ways.
    You will have a resource at hand and possibly recognize a long lasting friendship in the making.
    my 2 cents
    Donald

    Like

      robertjhawkins1 responded:
      December 2, 2013 at 9:19 pm

      Thank you, Donald. Advice worth so much more than 2 cents!!

      Like

    Christine Bilange said:
    December 3, 2013 at 7:07 am

    How interesting that 14 years ago the same questions were keeping me asleep while moving from France to USA 🙂
    To get things straight, yes, I did keep some of my cooking pots and pans and it was the right decision 🙂
    From my experience making the decision to move is the most difficult part of the journey . The excitement of getting settled is amazing, learning how things work should not take more than 6 months, but I am ready to bet it won’t be “home” before at least a year .
    The first three years you should have friends visiting and after that it will slow down …. 10 years later you’ll have less friends from your previous life but so many more from your new life !
    Enjoy the journey !

    Like

      robertjhawkins1 responded:
      December 3, 2013 at 7:35 am

      Thanks, Christine! So proud to be among those new friends you made here!

      Like

    […] Help us crowdsource our move to Belize (robertjhawkins1.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    Bound for Belize said:
    January 6, 2014 at 4:47 pm

    […] Help crowdsource info on moving to Belize! […]

    Like

    […] Help crowdsource info on moving to Belize! […]

    Like

    […] Help crowdsource info on moving to Belize! […]

    Like

    […] Help crowdsource info on moving to Belize! […]

    Like

    […] a month ago you were crowd-sourcing ideas or things you thought you needed to know.  I know a lot about San Ignacio, but not sure at this point what people have told […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

