Playing a tune in the caye of Cauker …..

Posted on

One of the guys we were swimming with in Shark-Ray Alley off Ambergris Caye. Props to Rose for jumping right in with the big fish!
One of the guys we were swimming with in Shark-Ray Alley off Ambergris Caye. Props to Rose for jumping right in with the big fish!

Two things I would feel remiss in not doing after all this time on Ambergris Caye: snorkeling and visiting Caye Caulker.

Spotted this sea turtle in the Hoy Chen Marine Reserve, our first stop on our snorkeling tour.
Spotted this sea turtle in the Hol Chan Marine Reserve, our first stop on our snorkeling tour. He’s missing most of his front fin on the other side.

Rose and I finally went snorkeling yesterday afternoon and today I am writing this message from Caye Caulker. I took the watertaxi over this morning – it is just south of Amberguis Caye — and so far I have gotten as far as the Laughing Lobster where I was served breakfast and a healthy WiFi signal.

Rose is off to her daily yoga class and later plans on a well-deserved massage over in San Pedro. This is our first time apart during this whole trip and, oh my god, I miss her!

Main Street in Caye Cauker. A nice little village on a nice little island just south of Ambergris Caye.
Main Street in Caye Cauker. A nice little village on a nice little island just south of Ambergris Caye.

Then again, we are on separate islands at the moment.

Caye Caulker is indeed a step back in time. The main street is hard packed sand and tourists walk around in bare feet and hotel towels wrapped around bathing suits.

Shop girl on the main street in Caye Cauker, waiting for business to pick up.
Shop girl on the main street in Caye Cauker, waiting for business to pick up.

A gentle old fellow with a single tooth jutting from his mouth stumbled up the steps and walked over to my table to talk. My fault. I made eye contact and smiled. He had an open bottle of rum in one hand and a bottle of water in the other. I couldn’t make out a word he was saying and despite the morning hour he was half-past midnight drunk.

The waiter was very kind with him and eased him off the porch and back on to the road. “Yes, my friend,” he told the guy, “you ARE cool.”

Later the waiter said he’s a fixture in the village. And you’ll see him around all day like that. His capacity for rum is legend.

Well, I’m off to explore more of the village and island. It isn’t very large and I’m sure I will have exhausted most of it in an hour or two. Nice vibe though. I’ll post more pictures from our dive trip later and a few more from Caye Caulker.

Here’s a couple more shark photos from Shark Ray Alley:

IMG_2367

IMG_2366

One thought on “Playing a tune in the caye of Cauker …..

    We’ve got a lot of talking to do | Bound for Belize said:
    September 15, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    […] Playing a tune in the caye of Cauker ….. (robertjhawkins1.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

